Diamond Buying Guide

Our guide to evaluating diamond quality delves into the ins and outs of determining its cut, clarity, color, and carat in accordance with the standards set forth by the diamond industry.

Diamond Ratings And Grades

The Diamond Certification

The weight and size of the diamond are measured by trained gemologists who use specialized equipment to evaluate quality qualities such as cut, color, and clarity.

Quality and origin of Elleroses diamonds are confirmed by a third party. A diamond certificate or grading report from an independent gemology laboratory provides an expert opinion on the diamond's quality.

GIA, IGI, HRD, and GCAL are just a few of the top gem grading labs that certify the quality of Elleroses diamonds. To obtain an electronic copy of a diamond's lab certificate, please get in touch with us.

What Aspects Affect the Quality of a Diamond?

Diamonds, like snowflakes, are unique in that no two are alike. Professional cutters work to bring forth the most in each stone's individual qualities.

In order to establish the overall quality and value of a diamond, the 4 Cs (cut, color, clarity, and carat) are applied to each stone.

A diamond's quality can be determined in part by its cut, color, clarity grade, and carat weight, but there is no ``correct`` way to look at a diamond. Many people looking for a stunning piece of jewelry are willing to sacrifice one consideration in order to achieve their goals.

They established the industry standard for diamond quality by developing a cut, color, clarity grade, and carat scale for jewelers and appraisers to use as a diamond quality reference.

Is there a formula for determining the Ratings and Grades of diamonds?

According to their standards, the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) is the world's preeminent authority on gem grading.

To help jewelers and appraisers determine the quality of a diamond, the GIA created a cut, color, clarity, and carat weight scale as industry standard.

Elleroses™ Diamonds

At Elleroses, we go above and beyond the industry standards to offer Elleroses™Diamonds selected for their ethical and environmentally responsible origins.

The 4 cs

1. Diamond Cut

The facets, symmetry, and refraction properties of a diamond are all considered in determining its cut. The brightness and beauty of a diamond is closely tied to its cut.

2. Diamond Color

Diamonds are graded on a color scale based on their natural color or lack of color, according to the GIA. Only ``colorless`` and ``near-colorless`` diamonds are available at Elleroses. The more valuable a diamond becomes, the closer it comes to being ``colorless.``

3. Diamond Clarity

Natural tiny inclusions and flaws in a diamond are used to determine its clarity. Inclusion-free diamonds are extremely rare and highly sought for.

4.Diamond Carat

Diamonds are measured in carats, which is a unit of weight. When comparing diamonds, this characteristic is frequently the most readily obvious.

What Is the Shape of Diamonds?

This is the outward geometric look of a diamond. Get to know the differences between fancy shaped cut and round brilliant diamonds, so you can decide which diamond shape is best for your personal taste and your budget.


Elleroses diamonds are independently verified for quality characteristics and origin. A diamond certificate or grading report provides an expert opinion on the quality of the diamond and is provided by an independent gemology lab. Trained gemologists with specialized equipment measure the weight and dimensions of the diamond and assess quality characteristics such as cut, color, and clarity. Elleroses diamonds are certified by the world’s leading gem grading labs including GIA, IGI, HRD, and GCAL. Please contact us to request an electronic copy of a diamond’s lab certificate.

Natural Diamonds: What Are They?

Carbon atoms condensed into a cubic crystalline shape billions of years ago, deep within the Earth's crust. This tetrahedral bonding arrangement results in the toughest and most conductible natural material yet discovered.

The amount of pressure and heat required to make a diamond is unimaginable. Only 100 miles below the Earth's surface, at a pressure of 725,000 pounds per square inch and a temperature of 2500 degrees Fahrenheit, do these conditions exist, according to scientists.

As the diamonds created, they traveled through the hot magma of volcanic eruptions before being deposited near to Earth's surface.

Diamonds are produced primarily in Botswana and South Africa, but mines can be found in a variety of countries.

How Do Lab-Grown Diamonds Differ From Their Natural Counterparts?

In terms of origin and price, natural and lab-created diamonds are distinct.

To the naked eye, there is almost no difference between natural diamonds and lab-grown diamonds. Even so, because lab-growns are not as uncommon as natural diamonds, there is a significant price drop. Couples will be able to find gorgeous lab-grown stones in sizes that would otherwise be out of reach.

When carbon atoms are squeezed under the correct temperature and pressure circumstances deep within the Earth's mantle, natural diamonds are formed. Using high-tech equipment and professional supervision, lab-grown diamonds replicate these conditions.

Because of their identical atomic structure and content, lab-grown diamonds are essentially indistinguishable from natural diamonds. Both are made up of carbon atoms that are organized in a tetrahedral shape.

Diamond Ratings FAQs

What is considered a good diamond rating?

In the end, the diamond quality is subjective by the person who is wearing the jewelry. Even though a J-grade color diamond is less costly than a D-grade on a diamond classification table, some people enjoy the hint of color.

What are the various diamond grades?

They are assessed based on their color, clarity, and cut. On a six-step scale, a cut can be rated from Excellent to Poor. Flawless through Inclusions 2 are assessed on a 10-step scale from the best to the worst in clarity. GIA’s D-to-Z color grading system is used. Overall beauty is determined by the quality of the cut.

What are the diamond's four Cs?

The 4 Cs of diamonds are traits that enhance a diamond’s beauty. Cut, color, clarity, and carat are the four Cs.

What does a diamond certification mean?

An independent gemology lab provides a diamond certification or report that provides an impartial perspective on the distinctive properties of a diamond.

What's the point of buying a diamond that isn't certified?

Having a diamond certificate proves that a diamond has been graded by a professional who has an opinion on its quality.

Are the gems from Elleroses certified?

That being said, we can confirm that all of our Elleroses diamonds are certified by some of the world’s most leading gem-grading laboratories.